Current Student Scholarship Opportunities

The 2020-2021 scholarship period has ended. Please see below for the 2020-2021 scholarship award recipients. Check back in October 2020 for next year's scholarship opportunities!

The Department of Art and Art History has many scholarships available for our majors. Students can learn more about specific scholarships (departmental and university) and apply through AcademicWorks. Students can also explore other funding opportunities through the Office of Financial Aid.

To Browse Scholarships: 

  • Login to AcademicWorks with your Wayne State Access ID and Password
  • Go to "opportunities"
  • Select "all"
  • Choose "Show Filters"
  • Type in your major as the keyword
  • Read the requirements for the scholarship

To Appy For Scholarships:

  • Login to AcademicWorks with your Wayne State Access ID and Password
  • Complete the General Application and Submit
  • Complete the College of Fine, Performing & Communication Arts Application and Submit
  • You will be directed to the "Recommended Opportunities" where you will see "ApplyTo" opportunities and the system will determine what you qualify for
  • Select the scholarship you want to apply to and submit the application

The AcademicWorks application opens on October 1st of each year with a March 1st deadline date. These scholarships are awarded for the following academic year (For example: Student applies October 2019-March 2020 with an anticipated award for the Fall 2020-Winter 2021 semesters). Departmental scholarships will also require a portfolio review (link to upload artwork is included in AcademicWorks application). 


The Department of Art and Art History is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020-2021 undergraduate department scholarship awards:

Evelyn and Jerome Ackerman Endowed Scholarship

     Kaleigh Blevins

Wilfred C. & Audrey M. Becker Endowed Scholarship in Industrial Design

     Julia DelRosario

     Marcela LeCourt

Albert+Peggy DeSalle Trust Endowed Scholarship

     Marc Dowda

     Nicole Rais

     Crystal Wilson

Brian Gahagan Memorial Endowed Scholarship

     Emilia Nawrocki

John B. Hunter, Jr. & Louise H. Hunter Endowed Scholarship

     Darnell Evans

M. Jacob & Sons Co. and Employee Scholarsip

     Caleb Lounds

     Luke Meduvsky

Marji Kunz Memorial Fashion Scholarship

     Molly Broekman

Priscilla M. & Robert C. Pearce Scholarship

     Oluwatoyin Akintoroye

     Aurionna Anderson

     Nikki Kogelman

     Millie Kuehnast

President's Endowed Scholarship in Art

     Julia Kiseleva

Stanley Rosenthal Endowed Scholarship

     Alaina Kraus

John & Irene Sowinski Scholarship

     Jamilyn Farmer

     Attie Hynek

     Adiya Jahi

     Syrena Kapsa

     Taylor Kelley

     Christina Krysiak

     Caitlyn Zachow